Themes Mark all newsUncheck all news

Lithuanian, Estonian, Ukrainian, and Swedish Foreign Ministers released a joint statement in Tallinn

Created: 2019.11.27 / Updated: 2019.11.27 08:16

At their meeting in Tallinn (Estonia) on 26 November, the Foreign Ministers of Lithuania, Estonia, Sweden, and Ukraine released a joint statement on Ukraine.

“We underline in the statement that the recent parliamentary elections in Ukraine demonstrated the overwhelming support of the voters for the country’s Euro-Atlantic aspirations and provided the government with a strong mandate to continue fundamental reforms,” Linas Linkevičius said.

The ministers committed themselves to supporting Ukrainian efforts in becoming a prosperous member of European democracies, including in the framework of the European Union’s Eastern Partnership.

The statement stresses the necessity to resolve the military conflict in Eastern Ukraine by implementing the Minsk agreements and strongly condemns the Russian aggression, which is a clear violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

On the same day, Minister Linkevičius took part in the first informal consultations between the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania and Estonia in Tallinn. Such consultations are regularly held between Lithuanian and Latvian institutions responsible for the implementation of their countries’ foreign policies.

Subscribe to our newsletters